American Crime Writers League

A bit of history

Ed Gorman Bob Randisi

The American Crime Writers League was formed in the late 1980s by Ed Gorman, left, and Robert Randisi, who wanted a private forum for exchanging ideas, complaining about almost everything, and trying to understand this decidedly wacky business. Robert Randisi is also the founder of The Private Eye Writers of America.

Here's your chance to find out what some of the major names in mystery fiction - from those who write about cozy cats to those who walk the mean streets - have in the bookstores today. You can discover new authors who are not yet household names but intend to be.

Please note:

We are professional writers who have more than enough ideas for books on our own. Much as we know you'd like to share your compelling story, we can't accept requests to write your crime book idea for you or with you.

Welcome to our newest
member, Stephanie Hoover

Stephanie Hoover writes true crime and is the
Publisher and Editor of Prose 'n Cons,
a magazine for fans of Mystery, Crime & Suspense.


ACWL Officers

Joan Hess (past president)

President: Jan Grape
Vice President: Bill Crider
Secretary/Treasurer: Shirley Kennett
ACWL yahoogroups list: Taffy Cannon
Membership: Shirley Kennett
Newsletter: Jan Grape

Questions? Email info@acwl.org.

ACWL Anthologies

Outstanding collections of tales of murder, mystery, suspense, and true crime by bestselling, award-winning authors of the American Crime Writers League. Mystery buffs will find something tantalizing for every taste. Contributors include winners of and nominees for Agatha, Anthony, Bram Stoker, Derringer, Edgar, Golden Dagger, Left Coast Crime, Macavity, Shamus, and Lifetime Achievement Awards. Edited by ACWL members R. Barri Flowers and Jan Grape.

MurderHere, Murder There
MurderPast, Murder Present